Spinning with Celia

A couple of weekends ago I participated in a “Comprehensive Spinning Workshop” taught by Celia Quinn. I had a fabulous fiberlous time!  I received over 82 different samples of fibers to work with.

Some cottons…

Cashmeres and Camels…

And some Silks…

Including the worm/bug!   (Celia has a sense of humor, I think she is a fan of  Tundra,  an Alaskan Comic Strip, very funny!)

There were lots of fibers that I like spinning, Combed Baby Camel Down, Combed Cashmere and Combed Buffalo were my favorites.  The Yak was pretty good too.

My least favorite was the Shorn German Rabbit, the fibers had a mind of their own and so hard to control.  Spraying/misting them with water didn’t help much.

I really liked spinning Targhee for the first time, the fiber has a lot of bounce and rather delightful.

Celia would hand the samples out in groups, for example bag # 4 containing Luster Wools with samples of scoured locks of Romney, carded Coopworth and combed Blue Faced Leicester.  She would then give a short lecture on the type of samples including different approaches on how to spin them.  We would save part of the sample and taped it to an index card, and then spin the remaining sample.  To save time during the workshop, we would spin some brightly coloured waste fiber in between the samples so we could easy distinguish them.  We didn’t stop to ply, most of us did it later at home.

When finished, each index card had a sample of the fiber, a spun single sample and a plied (2) sample along with any notes.  I then put the index cards into a 3″ three ring binder to use as a future reference.

This is the second workshop I have taken with Celia as the instructor.  She is great!  Celia is very knowledgeable about her craft but what I think makes her a good instructor is that she makes you feel very comfortable in her class.  She is very eager to help and answer any question.

Here, Celia is demonstrating how to spin cotton on a charkha, she also demonstrated how to use a takli supported spindle.  We all got a try, my first time for both devices.  My guild has a charkha and I think I might be renting it in the near future, it was rather fun.  The key thing I learned about spinning short fibers like cotton, is to spin/treadle  faster!

I had a really good time at the workshop and would highly recommend it.

I leave you with a picture of our guild’s president, I call it “Spinning with Muskox”.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Spinning with Celia”

  1. Curls & Q Says:

    Q – Oh, wonderful! I took a class from Celia last spring when she was down here in San Diego. Wonderful teacher. My long draw is thanks to her. 😎 I bet her classes in Alaska are more in depth since she can get her stuff around easier that on an airplane. Lucky you! How fun.

Leave a Reply

