Something Beautiful and Something Ugly

My niece who it a budding artist offered as a birthday present to paint my Danskos.  I am a big fan of Van Gogh, so I asked her to look at his roses for inspiration.

And this is how she painted the Danskos.

I now call them my “Happy Shoes”, I smile every time I gaze upon them.

Now for the something ugly, the main reason I haven’t posted for awhile.  I woke up one morning, and as I was getting my bearings before I would get up, I had an itch.  As I was scratching it, I could feel a lump… it was on the side of my left breast.  My first reaction was “Where did that come from?” and then I better get this checked out.   Within 10 days they confirmed it was breast cancer.  Then the whirlwind started.  Tests, surgery, trips to ER, tests, chemo, change in chemo treatment because I was having severe reactions like not breathing, tests, new chemo treatment, more tests, and as of today I am in my second week of radiation which is 5 days a week.  The hardest of all of this was telling my children (all teens).

In this whirlwind, there have been rays of sunshine, from family, friends, neighbors, fellow parishioners and last but not least members of my guild.  I am very blessed that I do not have to go through this alone.  The doctors, nurses and technicians have been so sweet as well as very competent.

I hope to be posting more frequently, I was able to do some knitting/spinning/weaving during this time that I’ll share with you.

And if it’s been awhile, go get tested.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Something Beautiful and Something Ugly”

  1. Paula Says:

    Just catching up on all my blog reading. I hope and pray all is going well for you. And I like your happy shoes. That’s what I’m going to call my red shoes now because they also make me happy when I wear them.

  2. Marlene Says:

    Thanks for your comment wishing me a happy 50th.

    Sorry to hear you are battling with breast cancer. I’ve had some frights myself, the most recent being this summer and requiring surgery to remove intraductal palanomias though, thankfully, neither time has been cancerous.

    2009 was a bad year all around for me, more trauma and stress than I could bring myself to blog about. I’m glad to turn my back on the past year and look forward to a happier 2010. I hope 2010 proves to be better for you as well.

Leave a Reply

