“Eight Stars of Gold…”

Now where was I…  Oh yeah, I finshed the Iris Quilt.

irisquilt4

To recap, the project is from “Pieced Flowers” by Ruth B. McDowell.  Now I just have to make a slat for hanging the quilt.

I also finished spinning some 3 ply BFL/Mohair 85%/15% sock yarn.  I blended the fiber on my drum carder and the resulting batts spun like a dream.  This was for my guild’s challenge celebrating the 50th anniversary of Alaska becoming a state.  We were to (weave, spin, knit, crochet…) something with blue and gold.  Blue and gold being the colors of the Alaska state flag.

alaska-flag

I didn’t want to have a solid blue for the sock so I hand painted the yarn with shades of blue, purple and turquoise.  I loved the result.

8starsofgold4

I choose the Sidewinder Sock  pattern by Nona.

8starsofgold31

With this design, the sock is knitted lengthwise.  I believe its shows the blue variations off better and creates a sky look to the sock.

After the socks were knitted, I spun a silk single and dyed it yellow for the stars.

I embroidered the eight stars on the socks to depict the Big Dipper and the North Star.

8starsofgold2

I really like the results, though this pattern wasn’t my favorite to knit.

And if you’re interested, the YouTube link is to the Alaska Flag Song which starts with “Eight Stars of Gold on a Field on Blue…”

Tomorrow is going to be a fun day, I will be at a workshop with Galina Khmeleva.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to ““Eight Stars of Gold…””

  1. CarolyninAlaska Says:

    Sounds like you’ve been very busy!
    The quilt is gorgeous, by the way… the socks look a bit challenging to knit.

Leave a Reply

