Victorian Lace Again

I had mentioned in an earlier post that I would be knitting lace for wedding gifts this summer.  One of the wedding gifts is going to be for a niece who is also my god daughter.  Her wedding was actually a year ago and far from Alaska.  She was then stationed to Germany and her husband sent to Iraq.  They were planning to come to Alaska this September after his tour and have a reception where I plan to give them their gifts.  But due to a dreadful event they will becoming home in August.  We have all been concerned about her husband’s welfare while he was in Iraq, but the event that surprise and shocked us was that my niece was mugged, beaten and left unconscious while on a run in a very “nice” town in Germany.  Her husband was able to get back to be with her within 23 hours of getting the news.  She is healing and otherwise doing well.

I have mixed and matched some of the designs from “Victorian Lace Today” by Jane Sowerby for the stole I’m going to knit for her.

The stole will have a center panel (Chart B from “Scarf with the No. 20 edging from The Knitted Lace Pattern Book, 1850“) with a border (Chart B from “Scarf or shawl with a center pattern”).

To start the stole I used the chain cast-on for the first time.

I like it very much, for me it works a lot nicer than the invisible cast-on.  This chain is temporary and will be removed when I knit the border.

“Victorian Lace Today” has a good reference section in the back of the book for techniques.  One of these references that I have found helpful is “Planning a shawl with a knitted-on border” which I used for planning the size and width of the center panel so the border should (fingers crossed) fit perfectly.

Off now to be mummy taxi driver (soccer practice).

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Victorian Lace Again”

  1. Jeanne Says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your niece and hope she gets better fast. How terrible. The shawl is gorgeous and I’m sure she will love it.

  2. Opal Says:

    Your poor niece! I hope she’s on the mend. I’m sure your lovely shawl will lift her spirits.

  3. In 15 Days « Hoc Age Says:

    […] Hoc Age Apply Yourself To What You Are About. In My Case, That’s Knitting and Spinning and … « Victorian Lace Again […]

Leave a Reply

