Something Red… and Green

First off, let me calm your fears, I not going to be posting anything about Christmas this time of year!

Before the Deb Menz’s workshop, I was playing around with some multi-coloured fibers and spun up some singles.  I had one bobbin of red merino with different values and saturations, another bobbin with some red silk from Chasing Rainbow Dyeworks (on the left) and the cranberry merino from Ashland Bay ( on the right).  The cranberry spun up looked more like blueberry to me.

I didn’t use any of these singles at the workshop, so I want to ply them and looked to see what might go together.  At first, I thought would just do a two ply with the red merino and red silk singles, but after taking the workshop I wasn’t going to try something more adventurous.  Looking at a colour wheel, I saw that red and purple are analogous and the values of the singles weren’t too extreme so I thought I’d give it a try and make a three ply.

And voila…

I am very happy with the results.

And now for something green.

As I was sitting in my car waiting on my teenagers, this pulled into the parking space beside me.

I thought this was so cute, I had to take a picture.  I use to love watching the “The Muppet Show” when I was a kid and I bought all the muppet movies for my kids.

Below the beer, on the side of the scooter, is written.  “It’s not easy being green.”

Too bad the husband, 4 kids and dog won’t fit on it.

Again too cute.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Something Red… and Green”

  1. Jeanne Says:

    Gorgeous yarn – the colors go together so well. Cute scooter!

  2. Opal Says:

    Beautiful yarn. I really love those two colors together.

    Love, love, love the scooter! Talk about cute overload. 🙂

Leave a comment