Plying For Colour, Part 3

Well, I was a total star struck fan with Deb.  She gracefully signed my copy of her book.  I brought along a case of coloured markers, I wasn’t going to give her a boring black pen to autograph “Color In Spinning”.

Check out her watch, the face is a colour wheel.

Her book wasn’t the only thing  I had her sign.

Yep… that’s my drum carder, “Deb’s Delicate Deluxe”.

This is the first time someone has asked and she has signed a drum carder.  She got a good giggle out of it.

Attending the workshop was another “fiber star,” Celia Quinn.  

She a spinner who teaches and has written for “Spin Off”.  Deb and Celia are good friends and Celia is listed in the dedication and acknowledgements in “Color in Spinning”.  Celia lives in Alaska and I have had the pleasure of taking one of her workshop.

Here’s a peek of what is on the loom (a computerized one) in the background.

Our host/weaver is going to use the fabric for a table cloth.

At the end of the workshop, the hand painted fiber that was not used was available for sale.

Here’s my acquisition with some solid merino that I might spin with it.

As I mentioned in my first post, I had an absolutely fantastic time.  I learned a lot, Deb is a great instructor and has a wealth of knowledge to impart.  The other spinners that I took the workshop with were a joy/hoot to be with.

I’m still grinning.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Plying For Colour, Part 3”

  1. Opal Says:

    Oh how cool! She signed your drum carder! And what a great roving haul you came away with. Can’t wait to see how they spin up.

  2. Paula Says:

    Oh, those yarns you spun are lovely! Great to read about your fiber ventures.

Leave a Reply

