I Have Homework

This weekend I will be attending a workshop offered by my guild (Anchorage Weavers and Spinners Guild). I am very excited about this workshop because the instructor is Deb Menz.  She is the author of “Color in Spinning”.

 

A book that I often drool over peruse.

She is also behind the design of Deb’s Delicate Deluxe, the Pat Greene drum carder that I own.

The workshop is “Plying for Color and Design,”  and we are invited to bring muti-coloured singles.  This was a good excuse to visit my local fiber shop, Far North Fibers.  My favourite fiber place to visit, Pamela is sooo helpful and always a delight to visit with.  She is also taking the workshop.

I selected some Ashland Bay multi-coloured merinos.

The colourways are from top right, clockwise,
Rosequartz, Daffodil, Cranberry, Laurel and in the center Denim. 

I wish I had homework like this when I was in school.

I filled 3 bobbins with the gray shetland singles but when plied (3 ply) it took 4 bobbins including a jumbo bobbin.

The 4 skeins total 8 oz, only 10 oz more to go.  This shetland is the first project that I used the long draw technique.  I enjoy using this technique, and I can spin faster employing it.

Well… gotta go, got homework to do.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “I Have Homework”

  1. CarolyninAlaska Says:

    Have lots of fun!
    I’ll be interested in seeing any “results”… or your homework!

  2. ladyoftheloom Says:

    I hope you have a really good time! How could you not with all that Ashland Bay.

  3. Jeanne Says:

    Wow – sounds like a great class – can’t wait to see what you do!

Leave a Reply

