Fir Cone Lace Scarf

I gave up waiting for spring, so I decide to go and get some.

I feel much better now.

I finished the “bubble wrap” scarf.

I am very pleased how it turned out and so is my daughter.

Pattern:  “Scarf with Fir Cone Lace Border from Weldon’s, 1895″,  Victorian Lace Today by Jane Sowerby.
Yarn:  Jagger’s Spun, Zephyr Wool/Silk, 50% Merino and 50% Tussah Silk.
Needles:  Addi Lace Turdos, 3.25mm

There is a pattern error in line 3, of chart A, it creates an extra stitch.
I handled it in the 4th row by K1, followed pattern but K3tog tbl at the end of the row, instead of K2tog tbl.

Pointy lace needles helped a lot when knitting the “bubbles”.  I used wires and some pins (for the borders) when blocking the scarf.  For me, the wires are well worth the investment.

I have at least 3 more lace scarf/stole to knit by the end of summer.  They are all wedding gifts.  I don’t have the patterns or yarns picked out yet.  One might be white, but I’m not sure about the rest.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Fir Cone Lace Scarf”

  1. CarolyninAlaska Says:

    The scarf is lovely and I really like your idea about “getting some spring”! I might just go do that too.
    Our daffodils (stems only) against the house where there is reflected heat are about 6 inches high, but the rest of the yard is snowy.

  2. Jeanne Says:

    The scarf is gorgeous! The bubbles are just amazing – I think I’ll go read that pattern and see how you did that…

  3. Opal Says:

    Beautiful scarf! You really did a great job. I’m tempted to knit a lace scarf myself now.

Leave a Reply

