White

Last week most of winter’s snow had melted, some of the temps were about 40 degree, we are all eagerly waiting… anticapting spring.  Then Saturday, we had 14 inches of snow.  I know I live in Alaska, and duh it snows, but I live in one of the “warmer” parts.  OK its a set back.  It started to melt again… yeah!

And then this morning…

 

I am so ready for some other colour, or should I say anything with colour.

You can then imagine how delighted I was to visit Cathy-Cate’s site.  Such beautiful pictures of flowers from her garden (last year’s).   Great eye candy.

My latest project I’m focused on is a scarf/stole for my eldest daughter.  The occasion is her confirmation, which will be at the end of this month.  Since its for her confirmation you can guess what the colour yarn I’m using.

Yep… white.

I call it the “bubble wrap” scarf.

It is actually called “Scarf with Fir Cone Lace Border from Weldon’s, 1895”, another scarf from Victorian Lace Today by Jane Sowerby.

The yarn is Jagger’s Spun, Zephyr Wool/Silk, 50% Merino and 50% Tussah Silk.  The berries/bubbles are not too much of a bother to knit, it does help to use fine point knitting needles (I’m using the Addi Lace Turdos).

If I had time today, I’d dye some silk hankies…  I think I’m going to visit Cathy-Cate site again. 

 

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “White”

  1. Opal Says:

    The bubble wrap scarf! *hee!* I hope some other colors sprinkle your life soon.

  2. Jeanne Says:

    I’m sorry that spring is a little slow this year getting to you! I hope it comes soon. The scarf is gorgeous – love the bobbles….

Leave a Reply

