Victorian Lace Scarf

I am helping a friend with a fundraiser for one of her friend’s daughter Melissa, who was a victim of a hit and run accident last August.  Melissa’s injuries were extensive and she will require specialized care for the rest of her life.  One of the ways I’m helping is by knitting a scarf for the silent auction.

The scarf is from Victorian Lace Today by Jane Sowerby.  The official name is “Scarf with the No. 20 edging from The Knitted Lace Pattern Book, 1850.”  Not very sexy name if you ask me.   The pattern is on page 84.

The yarn is a silk/kid mohair blend, colour #408 by Artyarns.  Very, very nice!  This is the first time I have knitted with mohair.  I have heard a few horror stories that knitting with mohair or should I say frogging with mohair is not fun due to the wisps of mohair get tangled easy.  I have had to do some minor frogging but it wasn’t all that bad.  It is otherwise a pleasure to knit with this yarn… on my Addi Lace Needles, US#6’s.

A closer look.

I have been unable to capture the subtle colour variations, but they are there.

I’m about 70% complete, but I do need to have it done by Monday…
so back at it.

4 Responses to “Victorian Lace Scarf”

  1. frillbow Says:

    That is beautiful! Gorgeous yarn. I’ve got this book, but to be honest it scares the daylight out of me!

  2. Jeanne Says:

    Gorgeous! And so nice of you to make it for the auction….

  3. Opal Says:

    Your scarf has reached a level beyond gorgeousness, I say! And for such a beautiful cause!

  4. ladyoftheloom Says:

    THat is a lovely scarf. And for a good cause too.

Leave a Reply

