Plan C, Silk and The Last Great Race

Now where was I… ah yes.  

I was planning to cut new arm holes for Rosemarkie.  I picked up stitches and knitted a new arm band, before I cut the arm holes I tried the vest on.  The arm holes looked too big and I didn’t like it at all.  So I frogged the new arm band.  I put the vest back on, but this time I used a shawl pin as a closure and I liked it a lot better.

So here is Rosemarkie  by Alice Starmore finished without buttons.  I would have had some pictures sooner but one of the little darlings “borrowed” the camera and neglected to mention it to me.

This is also the first time I used a wooly board  for blocking.  I like it a lot.  Thanks to Carolyn who gaving me good advice for selecting which one to buy.   The drape of the fabric is wonderful.  I am very impressed with the yarns from Virtual Yarns.

I also spun the purple silk hankies I dyed.

Here are some sites for info on how to spin silk hankies. Here, here and here.

Congratulations to Lance Mackey for his back to back win of the Iditarod aka “The Last Great Race.”   A “nice guy” finished first.

5 Responses to “Plan C, Silk and The Last Great Race”

  1. Alice Says:

    OK, so now I have just spent an hour watching spinning videos on YouTube. I always wanted to see cotton spun on a spindle, since I cant spin cotton I am totally impressed. Thanks for the links!

    I think my dog Suzie was meant to go to Alaska. She loves snow and pulling me around.

    THat is a beautiful vest. I am glad you are happy with it!

  2. Opal Says:

    Wow. Such things for the eyes to feast upon! Rosemarkie, silk, and dogs! All of which are gorgeous. Thanks for the links on spinning silk hankies. I was gifted one by a friend and I have yet to even attempt the spinning of it as I’m one huge scaredy-cat. Meow.

  3. Jeanne Says:

    The vest is gorgeous – very impressive! The handspun yarn is gorgeous too – what are you going to do with it?

  4. CarolyninAlaska Says:

    Great job on the vest. It looks beautiful!
    I love your purple yarn.
    Where did you end up buying your wooly board?
    Mine is really on it’s last legs and I have tried to tighten it up with glue and putty… it’s so exasperating to use!

  5. Scarf for Melissa « Hoc Age Says:

    […] got a surprise in my Ravelry inbox.  There was a request to use one of the pic’s of the Rosemarkie Waistcoat I knitted.  I have to confess I did a little “touchdown” dance before I approved the […]

Leave a Reply

