Plan B

I finished knitting the button and arm bands for Rosemarkie.

I tried it on and as I looked in the mirror, traditional costumes of Japan flashed in my brain.

I knew the shoulder were going to be a bit big but…

Oh well…

This is not the fault of the pattern, it has more to do with my hips/shoulders ratio.

So I decided to finish the silk Moonstone that was on my wheel.  I also spun some sample baby camel silk blend.

The silk is a 2 ply while the camel/silk is a 3 ply.

Spinning (which is very calming) gave me a chance to contemplate my options for resizing Rosemarkie.  I knew frogging (and that word actually stuck in my throat) was not going to be part of the plan.

More contemplating…

I dyed some silk hankies (from left to right) Lilac, Fuchsia and Purple.  It’s been very gray for the past week so these colours are a pleasant change.  I’m going to spin the hankies at the demo in March.  For me they are very easy to spin so I’ll be able to talk/answer questions/spin at the same time.

So I came up with Plan B. 

I am going to… ahhh… cut new arm holes.  To secure the edge since there are no steeks, I will machine sew the salvage.

If anybody has a Plan C, I’m all ears.

3 Responses to “Plan B”

  1. Opal Says:

    Oof. I’m sorry to hear about the shoulders, but you sure directed your frustrated energies well. Moonstone is gorgeous and so is that silk hanky. Good luck with the shoulders!

  2. Alice Says:

    Ahhh I have that same ratio. I can’t offer any suggestions but I say stick with it because it is going to be beautiful.

    And I agree about the spinning being a calming activity. I love it for that. Plus you get one of a kind yarns!

  3. Ria Says:

    Call me ignorant, but how do you spin hankies?

Leave a Reply

