Button Band

Now its time to pickup stitches for the button band.

OK… how many and what method?

The pattern states the number of stitches to pick up but I have made some alterations.  It appears that for each stitch, you pick up one.  When I picked up stitches (using the same size needle that I used for the corrugated ribbing along the bottom of the vest) along the corrugated ribbing, it seemed like too many stitches so I decided to knit a small sample button band.

I picked up a stitch for every other stitch along the ribbing and then every stitch along the body of the vest.

The resulting band along the ribbing pulled and curled.   Along the body of the vest the band laid flat.  So I decided to pick up at every stitch for both the ribbing and the body.

The two resource books I’m using for the vest;  The Art of Fair Isle Knitting by Ann Feitelson and Alice Starmore’s Book of Fair Isle Knitting  suggest two different methods for picking up the stitches.

For the group of stitches on the left, I used the Ann’s method that she said was widely used in the Shetland Isles and for the group on the right, I used Alice’s method.  I decided to go with Ann’s method which I’ll try to explain.

The stitch in between the white lines in the pic below is an edge stitch and where I’ll be picking up the new stitch.

I use a crochet hook to pick up stitches. 

I inserted the hook into the stitch below the line and stuck it up through the stitch above the line.

I would then wrap the yarn under and over the hook and then pull the new stitch onto the needle.  I’m sure that’s clear as mud.

On the sample button band I also knitted a button hole to see if it was the right size for the buttons.

After I picked up the stitches and knitted up the band until the button hole row, I then decided where to place the buttons.

I used 3 circular needles to knit the band, this way I thought, I would better be able to evaluate how the band is laying.  So far it seems good.

I’m still a bit nervous, but I am enjoying this project.

3 Responses to “Button Band”

  1. Opal Says:

    It’s lookin’ splendid, m’dear! Keep up the great work!

  2. CarolyninAlaska Says:

    Really nice step by step description of getting your band picked up and the knitting started! I’m always too lazy to do that.
    It looks really good, by the way…
    Enjoy the snowy knitting, or spinning weather!

  3. Paula Says:

    Buttonholds, buttonbands, and even buttons are definitely tricky. I like the method you used and your buttons are beautiful! Do you have a good source for buttons?

Leave a Reply

