Yarn Binge

The yarn that I order while on the “yarn diet” arrived.  The yarn has the same drool factor as a pint of Ben & Jerry’s Cherry Garcia for me… sorry to be so graphic.

 

The yarn is part of a kit for “Rosemarkie”a vest from Alice Starmore’s “The Celtic Collection”.

The yarns are Alice Starmore Hebridean 2 ply.  The yarn in this kit is different from the yarn original called for in the book’s pattern.  There is a colour difference. The original also included some chenille yarn.  The original yarns were made by Rowan and are no longer available.

The yarns seem to be more fuller and has a softer feel than the Jamieson & Smith 2 ply I have used. 

I really love the colours… I keep looking at the skeins and… uh… stroking them.

I have been coveting this vest for a couple of years and waited until my knitting skills improved before attempting to make it.  Sizing is what scares me the most.  For a good part of the year I wear turtlenecks and  fleece vests.  I want to make/have some nicer vest(s).  If this works, I know I will get a lot of use out of it.

The  yarn I order for “Christmas” knitting also arrived.

Well the yarn on the bottom is “Christmas” yarn, the other is for moi.

I am contented.

5 Responses to “Yarn Binge”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Your Starmore colors are beautiful. I can hardly wait to watch it bloom into your wonderful vest pattern. Happy Knitting

  2. ladyoftheloom Says:

    oh wow, happy happy! I can’t wait to knit Rosemarkie vicariously! I have the book and have always admired that piece.

    I put things in my own Christmas stocking, it’s OK to do that. Part of the Mom’s priviledges.

  3. Jeanne Says:

    OMG – the Starmore yarn is gorgeous. I can’t wait to see it knit up – amazing colors! Love the STR too…so tempted to go browse for me!

  4. knittingfisher Says:

    FYI: Your link to the vest is wrong…you forgot the “R” in virtualyarns (in the virtual!) So very very pretty though and I am sure the vest will look lovely.

  5. hocage Says:

    Oops, I believe I have the link fixed now. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

