Some Standed Knitting

While I have been waiting for some yarn to arrive I finished another of my “forgotten” projects.

Pattern – Maze Socks from Sentational Knitted Socks by Charlene Schurch
Yarn – Knit Picks Essential in Navy and Sock Garden in Geranium (no longer available) 1 skein each
Needles – Addi Turdo #1 Circular (2)

I doubled the Essential yarn when I knitted the toes and heels.
This was the first time I used some sock blockers and I like them very much.  I will be wearing the socks on Christmas.

Here are some detail pics of the socks.

One of the Christmas gifts I am working on now are some mittens for Grandpa Ted.  He is the grandfather of my one of my nieces (I have 18 nieces) and has just move to Alaska from back east.  He was born in the Ukraine some 85 years ago and I thought it would be nice to knit him some mittens.  I googled but I couldn’t a Ukrainian mitten pattern but I did find pics of the embrodery work of their traditional clothing.

The designs remined me of ones that I have seen in Mostly Mittens also by Charlene Schurch.  These designs are from the Komi region that is close by Ukraine.  So I picked Design 18 which has the diamonds with the same type of edging.  I choose to use black and red yarn (Dale of Norway, Falk) that are also traditional colours for the Ukraine.

I am not the best with guage,  so I will have to … gulp… frog this.

Oh well… I am still enjoying knitting these.

21 knitting days before Christmas!!

2 Responses to “Some Standed Knitting”

  1. KEFknits Says:

    Beautiful socks, thanks for sharing! — Kathy

  2. Opal Says:

    Gorgeous socks. They’re really very stunning.

    I’m so sorry to hear about the mittens though. I went through the same thing with the Anemoi Mittens. I had to frog the first 2 tries!

Leave a comment