Darn!

In an earlier post I showed you a hole in a favorite pair of socks.  I was really bummed.  I wasn’t sure how to fix them.  Was I going to knit a patch or darn them?  I know how to sew but I haven’t darned.  So I googled and came across HJS Studio that has a tutorial on darning.  It was very helpful.

One of the suggested tools to use is a darning egg to place inside the sock to help with tension and so you don’t end up sewing into the other side of the sock.  Since I didn’t have one, I used a photo holder that had the basic shape and smooth hard finish.  It work great.

Darning is basically making duplicate stitches.

Here’s the repair and after a wash.

I test “drove” the repaired sock and I don’t notices any bumps, it felt normal.   I am very pleased.

Here a pic of my son’s basic hat.

Yarn – Lambs Pride Super Wash, Bulky, Colour – Onyx, 1 skein
Needles – #5 and #6 20″ circular, #6 DPNs
Size – 21″ circumference, fits up to 23″ head (son has big head)
Pattern – CO 88 with #5’s, K2, P2 ribbing for 5 rounds
Switch to #6’s and knit until the hat measured 5.5 inchs from edge to needles.
Place markers every 11 stitches (8 total, use a different one to mark the beginning of round)
*^Knit until 2 stitches before mark, Knit 2 tog, slip marker and repeat until end of round.^  Knit next round.*
Repeat * * until you have 32 stitches.
Switch to DPN’s when necessary.
Decrease the next 2 rounds by repeating ^ ^.
Cut the active yarn 12″ from knitting and thread yarn through remaining 8 stitches, draw snug and weave all ends.

 Even though he has the mutant “I don’t like wool” gene, this yarn doesn’t seem to bother him. 

One Response to “Darn!”

  1. Jeanne Says:

    Wow – I’m impressed at your sock repair – I usually just throw them out. I’ll have to try to darn them next time! Very nice hat…

Leave a Reply

