Pine Trees Socks

 We have lots of trees on our property.

The one below was planted by the original owner of our house.

 

This one is a spruce native to Alaska.

I love being able to look out my window and seeing them.  There are always squirrels scampering up and down them. (These squirrels are not the fiber stealing variety that the Yarn Harlot has encountered.)  In the winter, the chickadees will swoop down from their branches and feed from our birdfeeder.  We don’t put the birdfeeder up from April till October because it attracts bears, both black and brown.

My fondness for these trees is why when I first saw Pine Tree Socks by Katherine Misegades I knew I wanted to knit them.

I also knew that I would want to dye/blend/spin the yarn.

I started with BFL and tussah silk.  I selected all the “green” dyes (Jacquard) I had, emerald, teal, and chartruse, plus brown and dyed the fiber.

The BFL after dyeing.

 I then blended the dyed silk with the matching dyed BFL using my drum carder.  (Still tickled pink with it.)

I layered the batts, split them and made another pass through the drum carder.  I believe I have a BFL 80%/Tussah 20% blend.

I’m impatient.

I am going to put aside the moonstone silk and spin up this fiber for the Pine Tree Socks.

I can hear my Mum saying “Finish what you start.”

“But…”

5 Responses to “Pine Trees Socks”

  1. Jeanne Says:

    Very nice – it is going to make beautiful socks! Go for it!

  2. Paula Says:

    The colors are just beautiful! I can’t wait to see the pattern and how it knits up. I love trees also. Did you know Helen Keller could hug a tree and feel the sap moving in it? I tried that and it didn’t work for me. 😉

  3. tikkunknitter Says:

    Aaahhhh….. how absolutely luscious! In my next life I’ll learn to dye and spin.

  4. My First 3 Ply and Lesson Learned « Hoc Age Says:

    […] Hoc Age Apply Yourself To What You Are About. In My Case, That’s Knitting and Spinning and … « Pine Trees Socks […]

  5. Pine Tree Socks Finished « Hoc Age Says:

    […] Pine Tree Socks, My First 3 Ply, and Lesson Learned and Ecstatic. […]

Leave a Reply

