One of the Reasons I Knit

My “type A” child is also known as my “kamikaze kid”.  Needless to say we got quite a few hours of “quality time” together this weekend at a doctor’s office.  And she has something new to wear. 

She didn’t break anything, but the doctor thinks she tore some ligaments. So she gets to wear the air cast for a couple of weeks.

As a mum, I am amazed at the depth and breadth of emotions that we can go through from one instant to another. I go from “Aaaahhh!, my baby’s hurt!” to “I’m going to wring his or her neck.” My “type A” refuses to listen to anything that starts with “Be careful you might hurt yourself doing that” or “Be careful, don’t you remember when you hurt yourself doing that?” I find myself repeatedly saying “Slow down!”

But of the other hand, I admire that my “type A” meets the world head on. If she has an interest in something, she goes for it and it doesn’t matter what other people think about.

So while we were waiting at the doctor’s office, I knitted… and knitted. It definitely help center my emotions and I wasn’t “crazy mummy.” We had a good chat. Do I think this will slow her down?… Not much… if any.

Oh… I also have something new to wear. This is a sock I finished at the doctor’s office.

I know I am going to be doing a lot of knitting in the future… I hope it is not all just for therapy.

2 Responses to “One of the Reasons I Knit”

  1. Paula Says:

    I can empathize. The nadir of accidents was when two of our sons had casts at the same time! I hope your daughter’s ligaments heal quickly.

  2. ladyoftheloom Says:

    Me too! One of my daughters actually ran and played flashlight tag (in the dark of course) in her cast after breaking her foot. She ran through a puddle as well. Doh. That was expensive! She actually called me from her university at 6am this morning to tell me that she had been throwing up all night. It doesn’t end. Torn ligaments sound painful though!

    And I like that sock.

    ~@

Leave a Reply

