Shetland Tea Shawl

I have added some progress bars to my sidebar, I believe this will help me keep focused.  I sometimes forget what I have on needles, it is easier to see what I have on my wheel since I only have one (for now) and it is not stuffed in a project bag.  I want to thank Jeanne who’s blog pointed to some sites on how to do it for free. 

I want to introduce to you to a project that I have had on needles since December last year, but first let me tell you about the yarn.

I spun this from some Ashland Bay, Sandalwood, Merino top, two ply, something between a lace and fingerling weight.  It was the first time I had spun something that was 1600+ yards in length. The longest yarn I had spun before was 500 yards. I really…really love this colour (with all the colours that it includes). I never grew tired of seeing the fiber slip through my fingers. It was a while before I knew what I would knit with.

The project I thought worthy of this yarn is the Shetland Tea Shawl. It is from “A Gathering of Lace”, gathered by Meg Swansen. The designer is Dale Long. I like circular shawls and wanted to try a more challenging (for me) lace design… and oh yeah I love the design.

I find that when you are writing about your obsession you end up using “love” a lot.

The lace on my version isn’t going to be as open as shown in the pic above.

The brown blob…

Not so blob like…

A detail of the shetland fern…

I’m using #4 Addi Lace Turbo.

There is actually a lot of colour in this “brown blob”.

4 Responses to “Shetland Tea Shawl”

  1. Christine Says:

    Your shawl is absolutely gorgeous and the yarn is beautiful!

  2. Jeanne Says:

    Beautiful! The yarn is just gorgeous and it must be so nice to use handspun in a project like this.

  3. Ria Says:

    Very nice! A Gathering of Lace is a book I’ve wanted for a while, and I really enjoy seeing projects from it. I’m looking forward to seeing this when it’s all finished, too.

  4. ladyoftheloom Says:

    Oh moosey! That yarn, shawl, color is absolutely beautiful! There is nothing blob-y about it. Hmmm Ashland Bay huh?
    Alice

Leave a Reply

