Plied Silk and Pumpkin Bread

After spinning the singles from the silk hankies I dyed, I plied them (two ply).

I am suprised glad that it turned out well balanced.

Here’s a better pic taked after it’s bath.

The colour of yarn shown in the pic above is pretty close to what it is.

An earlier post here explains dyeing the silk hankies.

I’ll be winding it into a centerpull ball and shipping it to my mum.  Her plan is a small neckscarf to go with a light blue coat of hers. 

The following pumpkin bread pics are a small homage to a wonderful jacket that I have been following construction of at the site of Lady of the Loom.

The recipe is from “The Joy of Cooking,” but I do not add the milk, nuts or fruit and I substitue 1 of the cups of sugar with brown sugar.

Even though I double the recipe, the life expectancy of pumpkin bread in our house is less than 24 hours.

2 Responses to “Plied Silk and Pumpkin Bread”

  1. ladyoftheloom Says:

    I thought I was the only Friday afternoon blogger!

    I want some of that bread…I may have to make some for myself since I am in Virginia and can’t get to your house! Sounds like it would be all gone anyway….
    The Great Pumpkin (aka LOTL)

  2. elanknits Says:

    I triple my recipe & it doesn’t last 24 hours (might have something to do with having teenage boys at home).

Leave a Reply

