State Fair and Spinning Demo

Yesterday I allowed the “little darlings” to cut some of their classes and we headed to the state fair.  It was a nice drive out to the valley. 

 

I don’t like to go on the weekends because it is so crowded.  I handed out ride tickets,  some cash for food and a cell phone so they could check in.  I remember what an expedition it was to take them to the fair when they were little.   They met up with some of their cousins and explored the fair together.  We connect a few times, one was for lunch.  They do have some very good food booths.  My favorite is the deep fried beer battered halibut, the fish is always moist and delicious.

But this is where I spent most of my time.

 

The fiber arts display had demonstrations of spinning and needle felting.  Volunteers from The Valley Fiber Arts and Anchorage Weavers and Spinners Guild contribute many hours for the exhibit, judging and demonstrations.  Denise, the lady with vivid green fiber also dyed and knitted the shawl.  She said that they had over a hundred more display items  this year.

I have seen some examples of needle felting but I was rather impressed and amused by what Kelley had created.

Twice a year the valley guild puts on a retreat, I won’t be able to go this September so it was wonderful that I got to visit with these ladies.  Well after gabbing discussing our fiber adventures for half an hour,  I was invited to sit down behind the display.  I was show the spindles that they handout and was promptly put to work… gladly.

Well, when I start spinning, it was on a spindle, but I haven’t used them much, I moved quickly to a wheel.   But to my suprise, using the spindle was a lot easier and more enjoyable for me now than when I first started.  I was a bit nervous since it is a demonstration, the object being to show how it is done, not “what on earth is that lady doing with a top?”  but quickly got comfortable.  I enjoyed answering questions and handing out spindles. 

For once, it was my kids telling me it was time to go home.

Leave a Reply

